Release Schedule (26 August)
Release Schedule / August 26, 2020

Dates are for US release and may vary in other countries. 1 September: Too Sweet: Inside the Indie Wrestling Revolution by Keith Elliot Greenberg 3 September: WWE Encyclopedia of Sports Entertainment New Edition (The print version of this book is now showing as unavailable and the blurb refers to it as an e-guide.) 13 October: We Promised You a Great Main Event: An Unauthorized WWE History by Bill Hanstock 15 November: Professional Wrestling: Politics and Populism (Enactments) edited by Sharon Mazer, Heather Levi, Eero Laine and Nell Haynes 17 November: The Young Bucks: Killing the Business from Backyards to the Big Leagues 1 December: A Man of All Talents: The Extraordinary Life of Douglas ‘Duggy’ Clark by Steven Bell 8 December: WWE: The New Day: Power of Positivity by Evan Narcisse and Austin Walker 26 January 2021: Bump by Matt Wallace 16 February: Ragtag Team (Slamdown Town Book 2) by Maxwell Nicoll & Matthew Smith 2 March: A Diva Was a Female Version of a Wrestler: An Abbreviated Herstory of World Wrestling Entertainment by Scarlett Harris 13 April: Training Day (El Toro and Friends) by Raul the Third 13 April: Tag Team (El Toro and Friends)

Initial Views Roundup
News / August 25, 2020

While it’s only fair to review a book after reading it in full, first impressions are also important. With that in mind, here are some initial thoughts on many recent releases. They are based on the free sample on Kindle, which usually includes somewhere up to the first 10% of the total book. Kicking Down Doors… by LJ Tracosasis an authorized WWE book covering the history of female wrestling. Written in full kayfabe mode, it looks like it falls into the obvious trap of having to simultaneously push the idea that the promotion revolutionized womens wrestling in 2015 while avoiding any suggestion it treated female performers unfairly at any time before that. This includes the particularly baffling comment that after losing the womens title to the Fabulous Moolah/Spider Lady (with no acknowledgement of the double-cross by the promotion), a devastated Wendi Richter “walked out of the arena and out of WWE for good, but with the satisfaction of knowing that she had changed WWE – and the way the world saw its female Superstars – forever.” Donald Trump and the Kayfabe Presidency: Professional Wrestling Rhetoric in the White House (Rhetoric, Politics and Society) by Shannon Bow O’Brien appears to be…

Recent Release Roundup
News / August 20, 2020

The following recent releases did not get advance listings and thus weren’t in our weekly release schedule. The Wrestling Insomniac by Michael J Labbe The Wrestling Insomniac blog started on March 1, 2015, this book is a collection of some of the most popular posts with updates noted as events have changed over the years. Stories include the NWA’s 1998 Invasion of the WWE, Failure of “The New” Tag Teams, the Smackdown Juniors Division, The WCW Hall of Fame, Hulk Hogan’s Rare TV Matches, New Japan Wrestling in the Soviet Union and many more. The History of the WWF Volume III: 1988: From 1985 to the Present by Jonathan Johnson Imagine going back in time and reliving WWF history as it actually happened. Not as the WWE wants to present it, but as it actually aired. No longer would superstars disappear from the history books or angles be edited out because they’re deemed too offensive to WWE’s current corporate philosophy. Instead, you’d see the WWF as it aired, as you remembered it if you’re old enough, or as it really happened for the first time if you’re a younger fan. You’d see the WWF that turned a regional promotion into a…

Release Schedule (19 August)
Release Schedule / August 19, 2020

One new entry this week, Bump by Matt Wallace: A moving and triumphant middle grade contemporary debut from award-winning author Matt Wallace about a heroic young girl—who dreams of becoming a pro wrestler—learning to find courage and fight for what she loves. Perfect for fans of Kelly Yang, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds’ Track series! MJ knows what it means to hurt. Bruises from gymnastics heal, but big hurts—like her dad not being around anymore—don’t go away. Now her mom needs to work two jobs, and MJ doesn’t have friends at school to lean on. There is only one thing MJ loves: the world of professional wrestling. She especially idolizes the luchadores and the stories they tell in the ring. When MJ learns that her neighbor, Mr. Arellano, runs a wrestling school, she has a new mission in life: join the school, train hard, and become a wrestler. But trouble lies ahead. After wrestling in a showcase event, MJ attracts the attention of Mr. Arellano’s enemy at the State Athletic Commission. There are threats to shut the school down, putting MJ’s new home—and the community that welcomed her—at risk. What can MJ do to save her new family?   Dates are…

Release Schedule (12 August)
Release Schedule / August 12, 2020

Dates are for US release and may vary in other countries. 1 September: Too Sweet: Inside the Indie Wrestling Revolution by Keith Elliot Greenberg 18 September: Donald Trump and the Kayfabe Presidency: Professional Wrestling Rhetoric in the White House (Rhetoric, Politics and Society) by Shannon Bow O’Brien 29 September: WWE Encyclopedia of Sports Entertainment New Edition 13 October: We Promised You a Great Main Event: An Unauthorized WWE History by Bill Hanstock 15 November: Professional Wrestling: Politics and Populism (Enactments) edited by Sharon Mazer, Heather Levi, Eero Laine and Nell Haynes 17 November: The Young Bucks: Killing the Business from Backyards to the Big Leagues 1 December: A Man of All Talents: The Extraordinary Life of Douglas ‘Duggy’ Clark by Steven Bell 8 December: WWE: The New Day: Power of Positivity by Evan Narcisse and Austin Walker 16 February 2021: Ragtag Team (Slamdown Town Book 2) by Maxwell Nicoll & Matthew Smith 2 March: A Diva Was a Female Version of a Wrestler: An Abbreviated Herstory of World Wrestling Entertainment by Scarlett Harris 13 April: Training Day (El Toro and Friends) by Raul the Third 13 April: Tag Team (El Toro and Friends)

Release Schedule (5 August)
Release Schedule / August 5, 2020

One new entry, A Diva Was a Female Version of a Wrestler: An Abbreviated Herstory of World Wrestling Entertainment by Scarlett Harris: Lifelong wrestling fan and critic Scarlett Harris uses big ideas, such as #MeToo, the commodification of feminism, and how we tell women’s stories to chart the rise and fall and rise of women’s wrestling.   Dates are for US release and may vary in other countries. 1 September: Too Sweet: Inside the Indie Wrestling Revolution by Keith Elliot Greenberg 18 September: Donald Trump and the Kayfabe Presidency: Professional Wrestling Rhetoric in the White House (Rhetoric, Politics and Society) by Shannon Bow O’Brien 29 September: WWE Encyclopedia of Sports Entertainment New Edition 13 October: We Promised You a Great Main Event: An Unauthorized WWE History by Bill Hanstock 15 November: Professional Wrestling: Politics and Populism (Enactments) edited by Sharon Mazer, Heather Levi, Eero Laine and Nell Haynes 17 November: The Young Bucks: Killing the Business from Backyards to the Big Leagues 1 December: A Man of All Talents: The Extraordinary Life of Douglas ‘Duggy’ Clark by Steven Bell 8 December: WWE: The New Day: Power of Positivity by Evan Narcisse and Austin Walker 16 February 2021: Ragtag Team (Slamdown…